Thursday, March 13, 2008

Adobe/Apple Video Production


Semester 2: Unit 2: is based on the Adobe curriculum Foundations of Video Design and Production.

In order to learn the foundations of video production, we are using the digital tools we currently have, which include: iMovie HD, iPhoto, GarageBand, and Photoshop CS3.

1. Become familiar with the iMovie interface and it's built-in resources.
2. Create a Sound Trip, a short story told through sound effects and images.
3. Add images and use Video Effects to create abstract graphics to compliment the audio.
4. Export a QuickTime video, compressed for Full Quality DV, the web , and for an iPod.

Thursday, February 28, 2008

Collage: The Adobe Project 1 Unit Test



This is the Adobe Project 1 Unit Test:
Make a digital collage that represents you.

Collage Requirements:
1. Create a new blank 1024 x 768, 72 ppi, RGB Photoshop document
2. Add 1 of your scanned images as the background
3. Include 7 or more of your scanned images, photographs, or other graphics that represent you
4. Text: Put your initial into the design
5. Color correction:
a. Adjustments > Auto Color
b. Adjustments > Shadows/Highlights
d. Dodge and Burn a portion of an image
c. Adjustment Layer > Levels
Clipping Mask: apply the Levels Layer Adjustment and clip it to the layer below it.
(Option click between the layers you are clipping)

6. Most of the graphics need to be created/scanned by you.
7. Clone an object into or out of one of your images

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

01g Crop, Straighten, Clone



Use an Adobe Photoshop CS3 Classroom in a Book image:
1. Use the Crop Tool to select an area on the image to crop out.
2. Rotate the crop selection so it lines up with the picture's orientation and Double click somewhere in the crop area to accept the crop and straighten the image.
3. Clone out something in the image
4. Save for Web & Devices:
(watch how the image quality changes with each quality variation)
a. In a variety of GIF color levels. (256, 128, 64, 32,16, and 8)
b. In a variety of JPG quality amounts (100%, 50%, 25%, and 5%)
5. File > Save As: change the Format to TIFF
6. Look in your Visual Design folder and examine the correlation between file size and quality.

Monday, February 25, 2008

African American Inventors

Today CHAMPS utilized the resources of the New Media Academy to help a student gather the graphics and create a slideshow for a Black History month presentation on Thursday, February 28, 2008.

Wednesday, February 20, 2008

Under the weather!

Hey class,
I'm feeling pretty bad, it seems like a flu kind of thing.
So there will be no class on Wednesday, Feb. 20 and Thursday, Feb. 21, 2008.

I'll see you Monday, Feb. 25

Take care,
Mr. Campi

Thursday, February 14, 2008

Project 1f Retouch Photos



1. Open image in Photoshop and duplicate Background Layer
2. Image > Adjustments > Auto Color
3. Image > Adjustments > Levels, adjust level for better contrast
4. In the History Palette, create a Snapshot
5. In the Tool Bar choose the Clone Stamp Tool
6. Add a new Layer on top, select the new top layer
7. In the Options Bar, change to Sample: All Layers
8. Zoom in and clone something out of your image
9. Be careful to match the colors
10. Try to make your image look as natural as possible
11. When it looks good, Merge the cloned Layer onto the image below (Command/Apple + E)
12. To smooth out the image go to: Filter > Noise > Reduce Noise
13. Save for web Gallery.


Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Project 1e Scanning Objects


We began a collage lesson today. We imported images by scanning.
1. Plug in the power and the USB cords from the scanner
2. Choose objects that you have with you that represent you,i.e. your binder cover, backpack, some doodling, writing, iPod, cell phone, etc...
2. Open Image Capture (The default app on a Mac for scanning and other image importing)
3. Position the objects on the scanner surface
4. Press Overview/Preview to correctly position object
5. Click hold and drag the cursor over the object to determine the area the scanner will capture
6. Set the ppi/dpi to 300 if you are going to print or 72-150 if you will use it for the web or other screen viewing purpose. We scanned at 150 dpi in order to have a little more flexibility for cropping or resizing.
7. Set the image format to jpg, because we didn't need anything higher quality than that because we will display these on the web.
8. Add a folder named Scans in your Visual Design folder, in your Last Name folder, in your Documents folder.
9. Choose the Scans folder to have them automatically scanned to.
10. Scan your items