
1. Open a high quality image in Photoshop
2. Command/Apple+J to Duplicate the Background Photo Layer
3. Turn off the visibility on the original Background Layer
4. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Auto Color
a. Choose Image > Adjustments > Auto Color
b. If the image looks worse, undo the change
5. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Shadows/Highlights
a. Choose Image > Adjustments > Shadows/Highlights
b. Make sure the Preview option is selected
c. Drag the Shadow and Highlight sliders until you like what you see.
d. Click OK
6. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Levels
a. Choose Image > Adjustments > Levels
b. Drag the left (black) triangle to the point where the darkest colors begin
c. Drag the right (white) triangle to the point where the lightest colors begin
d. Drag the middle (gray) triangle slightly to the left or right to lighten or darken the midtones
e. When the image looks good to you, click OK
7. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Dodge+Burn
a. Complete this step if there are any specific parts of the image that still need lightening or darkening.
b. In the Tool Bar, choose the Dodge Tool and drag the brush across any parts of the photo that you want to lighten.
c. If the effect is to strong, change the strength % in the Options Bar
d. Under the same icon in the Tool Bar, choose the Burn tool and use it to darken any specific areas that are to light.
8. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Unsharpen
a. Choose Filter > Sharpen > Unsharp Mask
b. Drag the Amount slider until your image is as sharp as you want it.
c. Drag the Radius slider to determine the number of pixels surrounding the edge pixels that affect sharpening.
d. Set the Threshold setting between 0-20 to determine how different the pixels need to be before they are considered edge pixels.
e. When the image looks right to you, click OK.
No comments:
Post a Comment