Hey class,
I'm feeling pretty bad, it seems like a flu kind of thing.
So there will be no class on Wednesday, Feb. 20 and Thursday, Feb. 21, 2008.
I'll see you Monday, Feb. 25
Take care,
Mr. Campi
Wednesday, February 20, 2008
Thursday, February 14, 2008
Project 1f Retouch Photos

1. Open image in Photoshop and duplicate Background Layer
2. Image > Adjustments > Auto Color
3. Image > Adjustments > Levels, adjust level for better contrast
4. In the History Palette, create a Snapshot
5. In the Tool Bar choose the Clone Stamp Tool
6. Add a new Layer on top, select the new top layer
7. In the Options Bar, change to Sample: All Layers
8. Zoom in and clone something out of your image
9. Be careful to match the colors
10. Try to make your image look as natural as possible
11. When it looks good, Merge the cloned Layer onto the image below (Command/Apple + E)
12. To smooth out the image go to: Filter > Noise > Reduce Noise
13. Save for web Gallery.
Wednesday, February 13, 2008
Project 1e Scanning Objects

We began a collage lesson today. We imported images by scanning.
1. Plug in the power and the USB cords from the scanner
2. Choose objects that you have with you that represent you,i.e. your binder cover, backpack, some doodling, writing, iPod, cell phone, etc...
2. Open Image Capture (The default app on a Mac for scanning and other image importing)
3. Position the objects on the scanner surface
4. Press Overview/Preview to correctly position object
5. Click hold and drag the cursor over the object to determine the area the scanner will capture
6. Set the ppi/dpi to 300 if you are going to print or 72-150 if you will use it for the web or other screen viewing purpose. We scanned at 150 dpi in order to have a little more flexibility for cropping or resizing.
7. Set the image format to jpg, because we didn't need anything higher quality than that because we will display these on the web.
8. Add a folder named Scans in your Visual Design folder, in your Last Name folder, in your Documents folder.
9. Choose the Scans folder to have them automatically scanned to.
10. Scan your items
Monday, February 11, 2008
Project 1d Color Correction

1. Open a high quality image in Photoshop
2. Command/Apple+J to Duplicate the Background Photo Layer
3. Turn off the visibility on the original Background Layer
4. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Auto Color
a. Choose Image > Adjustments > Auto Color
b. If the image looks worse, undo the change
5. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Shadows/Highlights
a. Choose Image > Adjustments > Shadows/Highlights
b. Make sure the Preview option is selected
c. Drag the Shadow and Highlight sliders until you like what you see.
d. Click OK
6. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Levels
a. Choose Image > Adjustments > Levels
b. Drag the left (black) triangle to the point where the darkest colors begin
c. Drag the right (white) triangle to the point where the lightest colors begin
d. Drag the middle (gray) triangle slightly to the left or right to lighten or darken the midtones
e. When the image looks good to you, click OK
7. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Dodge+Burn
a. Complete this step if there are any specific parts of the image that still need lightening or darkening.
b. In the Tool Bar, choose the Dodge Tool and drag the brush across any parts of the photo that you want to lighten.
c. If the effect is to strong, change the strength % in the Options Bar
d. Under the same icon in the Tool Bar, choose the Burn tool and use it to darken any specific areas that are to light.
8. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Unsharpen
a. Choose Filter > Sharpen > Unsharp Mask
b. Drag the Amount slider until your image is as sharp as you want it.
c. Drag the Radius slider to determine the number of pixels surrounding the edge pixels that affect sharpening.
d. Set the Threshold setting between 0-20 to determine how different the pixels need to be before they are considered edge pixels.
e. When the image looks right to you, click OK.
Thursday, February 7, 2008
Project 1c Clipping Mask

In Photoshop CS3 (PSCS3):
1. Open new web document: 640x480
2. In the Tool Box, Under the Rectangle Tool, choose the Custom Shape Tool
3. Choose a Shape fill your document with it (leave it black)
4. Add a new Layer
5. Go to Edit > Fill > Pattern
6. Option/Alt Click between the Layers to Clip the Pattern to the shape
Wednesday, February 6, 2008
Project 1b Promotional Postcard
Using the Horizontal Text Tool, Palettes, and Color Swatches- We downloaded a nature picture from the vincecampi.org Free online photo gallery.
- Renamed it 01b_Campi_PromoPostcard.jpg
- Reviewed the Selection shortcuts and Zoom tool
- Select the Horizontal Text Tool and the font Adobe Garamond Pro,
- Change the font size by holding the cursor over the tT label in the Options bar, and drag or scrub each way to change the size to 38 points (most numeric settings in the Tool Options bar and palettes change be changed this way.)
- Then type, Everyday is Beach Cleanup Day, or something appropriate to the photo you are using.
- Using the Move tool, drag the text to it's new position and change the font color by choosing a color in the photo and darkening or lightening it, so it is easy to read.
- Pick a large thick font, and write Let's all do our part
- Choose Apple/Command+Apostrophe to view the Grid and use it to help align the text
- Save your project and that's all.
Monday, February 4, 2008
Project 1a Selection, Zoom, and Curves

Welcome to semester 2 of the New Media Academy.
It's great to see the dedicated New Media Producing students back and ready to get serious.
Today we began the Visual Design requirements for Adobe Associate Certification.
We covered:
1. File Organization
2. A refresher with the Photoshop CS3 interface
- The top Menu Bar
- The Tools Options Bar, just below the menu
- The Tool Box on the left side of the screen
- The Bridge Button
- And the Floating Palettes, on the right side
- File > Open
- Drag the file to the Photoshop icon
- Tools Options Bar > Adobe Bridge Button > navigate to the folder > Double click image
5. Zoom Tool:
- Keyboard shortcut: Z
- Click, Hold, and Drag to select and Zoom into a specific area
- Double Click on the Zoom tool to get it back to 100%
- Apple/Command+0, to Fit image to screen
- Hold Option (Mac) or Alt (Windows) with Zoom tool to zoom out
7. Zoom Level/Percentage and Status Bar, in the lower left corner of the document window
8. Selection Tools:
- Click and hold on the Rectangular Marquee tool to reveal more Selection Tools
- Hold cursor over and Option or Alt click to cycle through hidden tools
- Using the Elliptical Marquee tool (0) select an area on your image
- A selected area of an image becomes the only editable area of the image
- The animated dashed line or marching ants indicates that the area inside is Selected
- You can drag the selection to better align it with an object in your image
- Choose Select > Deselect
- or Command+D (Mac), Control+D (Windows)
- Press Option+Shift (Mac) or Alt+Shift (Windows) and drag outward from the center of the circle. Release the mouse, then the keyboard keys
- Choose Select > Inverse
- Choose Image > Adjustments > Curves or Command+M (Mac) or Ctrl+M (Windows)
- Make sure the Preview box is checked
- Experiment with some of the Presets, then change the Output: to 150
- Click OK to close the Curves dialog box
- Choose Select > Deselect and the marching ants will disappear
13. This is the end of the first Photoshop Visual Design Project
14. Now you can quit Photoshop if you would like to
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)