Thursday, February 28, 2008

Collage: The Adobe Project 1 Unit Test



This is the Adobe Project 1 Unit Test:
Make a digital collage that represents you.

Collage Requirements:
1. Create a new blank 1024 x 768, 72 ppi, RGB Photoshop document
2. Add 1 of your scanned images as the background
3. Include 7 or more of your scanned images, photographs, or other graphics that represent you
4. Text: Put your initial into the design
5. Color correction:
a. Adjustments > Auto Color
b. Adjustments > Shadows/Highlights
d. Dodge and Burn a portion of an image
c. Adjustment Layer > Levels
Clipping Mask: apply the Levels Layer Adjustment and clip it to the layer below it.
(Option click between the layers you are clipping)

6. Most of the graphics need to be created/scanned by you.
7. Clone an object into or out of one of your images

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

01g Crop, Straighten, Clone



Use an Adobe Photoshop CS3 Classroom in a Book image:
1. Use the Crop Tool to select an area on the image to crop out.
2. Rotate the crop selection so it lines up with the picture's orientation and Double click somewhere in the crop area to accept the crop and straighten the image.
3. Clone out something in the image
4. Save for Web & Devices:
(watch how the image quality changes with each quality variation)
a. In a variety of GIF color levels. (256, 128, 64, 32,16, and 8)
b. In a variety of JPG quality amounts (100%, 50%, 25%, and 5%)
5. File > Save As: change the Format to TIFF
6. Look in your Visual Design folder and examine the correlation between file size and quality.

Monday, February 25, 2008

African American Inventors

Today CHAMPS utilized the resources of the New Media Academy to help a student gather the graphics and create a slideshow for a Black History month presentation on Thursday, February 28, 2008.

Wednesday, February 20, 2008

Under the weather!

Hey class,
I'm feeling pretty bad, it seems like a flu kind of thing.
So there will be no class on Wednesday, Feb. 20 and Thursday, Feb. 21, 2008.

I'll see you Monday, Feb. 25

Take care,
Mr. Campi

Thursday, February 14, 2008

Project 1f Retouch Photos



1. Open image in Photoshop and duplicate Background Layer
2. Image > Adjustments > Auto Color
3. Image > Adjustments > Levels, adjust level for better contrast
4. In the History Palette, create a Snapshot
5. In the Tool Bar choose the Clone Stamp Tool
6. Add a new Layer on top, select the new top layer
7. In the Options Bar, change to Sample: All Layers
8. Zoom in and clone something out of your image
9. Be careful to match the colors
10. Try to make your image look as natural as possible
11. When it looks good, Merge the cloned Layer onto the image below (Command/Apple + E)
12. To smooth out the image go to: Filter > Noise > Reduce Noise
13. Save for web Gallery.


Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Project 1e Scanning Objects


We began a collage lesson today. We imported images by scanning.
1. Plug in the power and the USB cords from the scanner
2. Choose objects that you have with you that represent you,i.e. your binder cover, backpack, some doodling, writing, iPod, cell phone, etc...
2. Open Image Capture (The default app on a Mac for scanning and other image importing)
3. Position the objects on the scanner surface
4. Press Overview/Preview to correctly position object
5. Click hold and drag the cursor over the object to determine the area the scanner will capture
6. Set the ppi/dpi to 300 if you are going to print or 72-150 if you will use it for the web or other screen viewing purpose. We scanned at 150 dpi in order to have a little more flexibility for cropping or resizing.
7. Set the image format to jpg, because we didn't need anything higher quality than that because we will display these on the web.
8. Add a folder named Scans in your Visual Design folder, in your Last Name folder, in your Documents folder.
9. Choose the Scans folder to have them automatically scanned to.
10. Scan your items

Monday, February 11, 2008

Project 1d Color Correction


1. Open a high quality image in Photoshop
2. Command/Apple+J to Duplicate the Background Photo Layer
3. Turn off the visibility on the original Background Layer

4. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Auto Color
a. Choose Image > Adjustments > Auto Color
b. If the image looks worse, undo the change

5. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Shadows/Highlights
a. Choose Image > Adjustments > Shadows/Highlights
b. Make sure the Preview option is selected
c. Drag the Shadow and Highlight sliders until you like what you see.
d. Click OK

6. Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Levels
a. Choose Image > Adjustments > Levels
b. Drag the left (black) triangle to the point where the darkest colors begin
c. Drag the right (white) triangle to the point where the lightest colors begin
d. Drag the middle (gray) triangle slightly to the left or right to lighten or darken the midtones
e. When the image looks good to you, click OK

7.
Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Dodge+Burn
a. Complete this step if there are any specific parts of the image that still need lightening or darkening.
b. In the Tool Bar, choose the Dodge Tool and drag the brush across any parts of the photo that you want to lighten.
c. If the effect is to strong, change the strength % in the Options Bar
d.
Under the same icon in the Tool Bar, choose the Burn tool and use it to darken any specific areas that are to light.

8.
Command/Apple+J to duplicate that Layer and name it Unsharpen
a. Choose Filter > Sharpen > Unsharp Mask
b. Drag the Amount slider until your image is as sharp as you want it.
c. Drag the Radius slider to determine the number of pixels surrounding the edge pixels that affect sharpening.
d. Set the Threshold setting between 0-20 to determine how different the pixels need to be before they are considered edge pixels.
e. When the image looks right to you, click OK.